It is one of the largest medieval fortifications in the Münsterland and the oldest castle in the "town of water castles" Lüdinghausen: the mighty Kakesbeck Castle. Embedded in the green park landscape and right next to the Stever, the estate is charmingly situated. In the future, visitors will be able to experience much more, because a new chapter in the castle's history is being opened here.
The imposingly grown complex originated in 1120 as a motte, a small hilltop tower castle. After numerous changes of ownership, the castle was extended onto two islands, but it was not until the 14th century that it underwent significant alterations and extensions under the von Oer family. The estate experienced its heyday in the mid-18th century, when the complex covered an area of almost one square kilometre and consisted of five further outer castles in addition to the core castle, which were secured by ramparts and moats. The well-maintained condition of the castle today is thanks to the late Dr Wilfried Grewing, the former lord of the castle. The foundation named after him has been particularly committed to the preservation of the property since 2020. In the future, the castle is to be made accessible to the general public with its own gastronomy, guided tours and events.
There is a dramatic story about the family member Knight Lambert von Oer: caught in an ambush, his adversary put an iron spiked collar on him, which he only managed to open by a life-threatening and daring act. The collar is on display at Vischering Castle, and a replica true to the original is on show at Kakesbeck Castle.