The secular listed Haus von Hülst is located in the middle of the picturesque West Münsterland municipality of Legden. The baroque ornamentation and well-kept walls of brick and sandstone make it a jewel of the village.
Concealing its true age, the bricks of the chic town house rest on a sandstone base from the 14th century. It was not until 1677 that the building took on its present form. Initially known as the "Vogtshaus" (bailiff's house), it served as a living and administrative space for the bailiffs of the Prince-Bishop of Münster and the Asbeck Ladies' Convent. The property with the magnificently decorated gable was extended by a garden and an outbuilding in half-timbered style. It was not until the beginning of the 19th century that the single-storey building was given the title "Haus von Hülst" by the family of the same name. This family lived in and operated the property as the official residence of the municipality for another 150 years. Due to severe decay, the house, which is now privately owned, was thoroughly renovated in 1988 and energy-saving measures were taken in 2012.